ISLE ROYALE, MI

In 2011, my dad took my little sister an I on our first ever backpacking trip. We went to Isle Royale, in Upper Michigan. It’s a little island in Lake Superior that you have to take a ferry to get to. We packed up all the ramen, clip bars and water and started on 6-10 mile hikes for 4 days. Each tent spot was so  nice, and they had huts to sleep in if you wanted. We swam in Lake Superior every day, even though it was ice cold. At the time, I dreaded going backpacking because I would be so detached from everything, but by the end I loved it.

Leave a Reply

